Congratulations to Leah Hamann for being selected by her peers at United Tribes Technical College as the 2017 American Indian College Fund Faculty Member of the Year.

Leah is a faculty member in the Teacher Education department and has been teaching in this position for 18 years. Leah was born in the Philippines and came to the U.S. when she was three years old. Her parents still live on the family farm near Langdon, ND, where Leah graduated from high school. She attended Mayville State University for her undergraduate degree, Minot State University for her graduate degree, and is currently in a doctoral program at Capella University. 

Leah is highly respected among her colleagues, the community and the students for her willingness to go above and beyond to help people succeed in their endeavors. She is the consummate organizer, exceptionally skilled at bringing diverse groups of people (particularly students) together for a common cause, and the epitome of a professional educator. It is because of this dedication to the education of her students, and her invaluable contribution to the UTTC campus community, that Leah Hamann is the UTTC Faculty Member of the Year.

2017 is the tenth year for the American Indian College Fund Faculty of the Year Award. The award honors TCU faculty members who exemplify a commitment to students, scholarship, teaching and service. For past year recipients of the Faculty of the Year award at UTTC, go to: