Home United Tribes News Story

United Tribes News

Staff News
February 10 2014

Tribune Award
Congratulations to the United Tribes Wellness Circle on being recognized by the Bismarck Tribune with a “2013 Tribune Award.” In a front page story on New Year’s Day, the paper lauded the group for promoting a healthy campus – its biggest accomplishment of the year guiding UTTC to go completely tobacco free. “Among us are people whom we count upon for their good works, kindness, level-headed action and, in general, giving more than receiving,” the paper wrote about these individuals who served on the Wellness Circle: Pat Aune (coordinator), Marcus Austin, Kathy Johnson, Barbara Little Owl, Dennis Neumann, Wanda Agnew, Colette Wolf, Jan Keller, Robert Fox, Jana Millner, Rebekah Olsen, Bud Anderson, Julie Cain, Olivia Tuske-Reese, Charmelle Fuchs, Anita Charging, Gillian Plenty Chief, Carla Gerriets, Travis Albers, Misty Cavanaugh, Joely Heavy Runner, Dan Molnar, Joey McLeod, Charisse Fandrich, Marsha Azure, Brad Hawk and TJ McLaughlin. Tribune said it acknowledges individuals or groups who might not otherwise receive community appreciation for what they have done or accomplished.

Holiday Gathering
            The United Tribes Staff Holiday Gathering featured good food, lots of fun and award recognitions December 13 at the Ramkota Inn, Bismarck. Master of Ceremonies Marcus Austin presided and the Human Resource Dept. provided well-deserved recognition for the college’s faculty and staff.
Career Educators
            Generous applause greeted the honoring of long-time and much-admired educators Butch Thunderhawk and Kathy Aller, who’ve logged 40 years of service and Dorvin Froseth with 35 years.

Years of Service Awards
5 Years: Christopher Baillie, Donna Belgarde, Tamara Bitz, Christina Brazell, Shanna DeCoteau, Anita Green, Mandy Guinn, Ryan Hertel, Rebekah Olson, LuAnn Poitra, Ben Ramsey, Renae Ripley, Matthew SeeWalker, Scott Skaro, Valery Whitman
10 Years: Lori Brown, Renee Connell, Homer Cook, Thomas Disselhorst, Cynthia Hurkes, Jana Jablonski, Lowell Little Eagle, Cynthia McLeod, Dennis Neumann, Jay Wheeler
15 Years: Leah Hamann, Jamie Higlin, Cathy Mastrud, Connie Stockert, Roland Young     
20 Years: True Clown Jr., Michael Stockert, Russell Swagger
25 Years: Ella Duran
35 Years: Dorvin Froseth
40 Years: Kathy Aller, Wallace “Butch” Thunder Hawk Jr.
Light-On-Their-Feet Award
            Tip your had to Bernice and Tim Thomas for an enjoyable display of performance intelligence on the dance floor. In the style of western swing, it was a show worthy of “Dancing With the Stars.”

Picture of Christmas Joy
With Julie Cain as their centerpiece, Land Grant and Nutrition and Foodservice staffers shined for a Christmas moment, from left, Colette Wolf, Jana Millner, Annette Broyles, Travis Albers, Wanda Agnew, Jan Keller, Pat Aune and Robert Fox.

On DOL Council
United Tribes President David M. Gipp, seated center, attended meetings December 11-12 of the National Advisory Council on Native American Employment and Training, of which he is a member. The council advises the agency on operation and administration of the section of the Workforce Investment Act that focuses on Native American programs. He first served on the panel in 1997 and was most recently reappointed in 2010.
DOL photo

Authorized for Safety
            Congratulations to United Tribes Safety Director Joely Heavy Runner on completing all requirements to be an Authorized OSHA10/OSHA 30 General Industry Instructor. He is authorized to facilitate and instruct OSHA’s 10 hour and 30 hour courses, which he intends to do on campus for staff, students and faculty. Recently he completed the Slippery Slope (Winter Driving) Instructor course thru the North Dakota Safety Council and will also facilitate that four-hour course on campus. Attendees who complete the course would be in line for a discount on their auto insurance. Watch for upcoming safety trainings offered by Joely.

Campus Cutie
Say hello to Lakelyn Amani Hodge, the daughter of UTTC Enterprise Director Tiffany Hodge. Lakelyn arrived September 24, 2013 at 6 lbs 14 oz. Understandably she is the center of attention when she accompanies her mother to meetings on campus.

Automotive Raffle
            Congratulations to the winners of the Automotive Raffle conducted November 27 courtesy of the UTTC Automotive Club.
            Courtney Lawrence and Cindy Hurkes were winners of an oil change. Val Whitman and Luann Poitra won the coolant flush.
Winners of a four-wheel alignment were Dustin Thunder Hawk and Courtney Lawrence.
The grand prize winner of a brake job was Randy Lamberth.
            Thank you to Anne Kraft who made all the drawings. Congratulations to the winners and thanks to everyone for supporting the club.
– Scott Graeber, Automotive Technology Instructor

Doctor in the House
            Congratulations to Dr. Barbara Schmitt, UTTC Economic Development Director, upon earning a Doctorate Degree in Education from North Dakota State University. UTTC’s Economic Development Director attended commencement exercises on December 20 at the Bison Sports Arena in Fargo, ND. Pictured are daughter Chelsea, Dr. Barbara, husband Jim, and daughter Haley.

Still at Bat
Please join in congratulating Tribal Environmental Science Instructor Mandy Guinn. She’s been awarded a $17,000 Mellon Fellowship to continue her bat research work with United Tribes students.
– Jen Janecek-Hartman, UTTC STEM Programs Director

Airing Out
Staff members bid a melancholy farewell to Tribal Environmental Science instructor Rebekah Olson at a going away reception January 17. Rebekah served UTTC in science education for 6 years and now takes up regulatory science with the State of North Dakota’s Air Quality Division. She will be missed.
– TES staff


Contact Us

United Tribes News
3315 University Drive
Bismarck, ND 58504

(701) 255-3285 ext. 1386