Select Page

Academic Affairs

United Tribes Technical College

The Vice President for Academic Affairs oversees and provides leadership for all academic programs and functions at United Tribes Technical College. The Office of Academic Affairs has the lead responsibility for academic planning and academic budget administration, academic personnel decisions and career development, curricular requirements and degree program development, assessment of student learning, and academic accreditation.

The Vice President for Academic Affairs works closely with the President’s Office, the Vice Presidents for Student Services, Campus Services, and Childhood Education; the directors and department chairs, faculty and committees on a broad array of policy and strategic planning issues. Our purpose is to support the mission of United Tribes Technical College and the students and their families who are pursuing their educational goals at our campus.

Division Goals: 2016 - 2019

The Academic Affairs division at United Tribes Technical College provides programs that prepare students to be lifelong learners and productive professionals in a global and diverse society. Through a culture of continuous improvement and reflective assessment, Academic Affairs is committed to enhancing opportunities for students to grow intellectually, think critically, and develop leadership skills. Faculty, staff, students and community members collaborate on professional, scholarly and creative works that contribute to the health of our institution, our community and tribal communities throughout the country.

  1. Develop educational programs that differentiate United Tribes Technical College as a leader in education, leadership development and innovation in student research
  2. Implement best practices for advancing student learning in an environment focused on student success
  3. Establish a scholarly environment for faculty and staff
Institutional Learner Outcomes

Graduates of United Tribes Technical College will:

  1. Exhibit effective oral and written communication. (Communication)
    • Organize various types of communication
    • Articulate content knowledge
    • Demonstrate appropriate delivery (i.e. body language, tone, voice)
    • Apply mechanics of writing (standard grammar, punctuation, spelling)
  2. Analyze information from diverse sources. (Critical Thinking)
    • Identify issues
    • Evaluate sources
    • Apply solutions
  3. Develop solutions to mathematical and scientific problems (Quantitative & Scientific Reasoning)
    • Interpret data from a variety of sources
    • Demonstrate hypothesis-based problem solving
    • Estimate answers for reasonableness
    • Communicate quantitative information
  4. Demonstrate skills necessary for living and working in a global society. (Personal & Social Responsibility)
    • Demonstrate collaboration skills
    • Identify ethical norms for conduct
    • Exhibit knowledge of diverse cultures, identities and societies
    • Model professional behavior (e.g. attire, timeliness, reliability, initiative)
Faculty of the Year Recipients

Every year, since 2006, the American Indian College Fund has presented the Annual Faculty Member of the Year Award. This award was established by the American Indian College Fund Board Member, Kim Blanchard, to recognize and celebrate distinguished faculty members at each of the AIHEC Member Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs) across the United States. This award honors TCU faculty members who exemplify a commitment to students, scholarship, teaching, and service to Native communities.

Recipients of this award at United Tribes Technical College are as follows:

  • 2006: Lisa Azure, Teacher Education Chair
  • 2007: Sheri BearKing Baker, Business Faculty
  • 2008: Kathy Aller, Business & Office Technology Chair
  • 2009: Ray Dingeman, Criminal Justice Chair
  • 2010: Anne McLaughlin Kuyper, General Education Faculty
  • 2011: Wallace “Butch” Thunderhawk, Jr., General Education Faculty
  • 2012: Marge Palaniuk, General Education Faculty
  • 2013: Evelyn Orth, Practical Nursing Chair
  • 2014: Dale Pletan, Automotive Technology Chair
  • 2015: Brian Palecek, General Education Faculty
  • 2016: Mary P. Austin, General Education Faculty
  • 2017: Leah Hamann, Teacher Education Faculty
  • 2018: Alexa Azure, Pre-Engineering Faculty